SHLB Welcomes Five New Board Members Bringing Diverse Expertise

Press Releases,

For Immediate Release

Contact: Saskya Cabral

Marketing Director 

SHLB Welcomes Five New Board Members Bringing Diverse Expertise

Washington, D.C. (January 8, 2023) - The Schools, Health & Libraries Broadband (SHLB) Coalition, an advocate for “Closing the Digital Divide, One Anchor Institution at a Time,” is proud to announce the appointment and election of five esteemed individuals to its Board of Directors. These new members bring a wealth of experience and diverse perspectives that aptly represent the breadth and depth of the Coalition's membership.

"We are thrilled to welcome these exceptional professionals to the SHLB Coalition's Board of Directors," said Cindy Aden, Chairperson of the Board. "Their combined expertise in tribal relations, broadband infrastructure, education technology, and policy advocacy will greatly contribute to advancing our mission of ensuring every community has access to affordable, high-quality broadband. SHLB is committed to diverse representation, and comprehensive expertise is evident in the appointment and election of the five newly welcomed board members, each chosen for their unique and substantial contributions to the broadband sector, especially on behalf of schools, libraries, and healthcare providers."

The newly appointed and elected board members include:

  • Tracy Doaks is the President and CEO of MCNC, a nonprofit that provides Internet and technology services to North Carolina communities. She was previously the state CIO and secretary for the N.C. Department of Information Technology (NCDIT) and has held various leadership roles in the IT and healthcare sectors. She has a degree in Industrial Engineering and a CIO certification and has received several awards for her work. She is also involved in many boards and organizations related to IT and social causes.
  • Adam Geisler is the President and COO of Tribal Ready, a Native-owned and governed public benefit corporation that helps Tribal Nations mend the digital divide by securing funding, planning and designing sustainable broadband networks, and supporting the deployment needs of critical broadband infrastructure. He is a former elected official and Tribal leader for his Tribe, and the former Director of NTIA’s Tribal Connectivity and Nation to Nation Coordination Division with the U.S. Department of Commerce. He has over 20 years of experience in tribal relations and broadband, and he also served as a Tribal broadband subject-matter expert for the White House Council for Native American Affairs. He is passionate about bridging the digital divide and empowering tribal digital strength and sovereignty. 
  • Luis Wong is the CEO of the California K-12 High Speed Network (K12HSN), a network that connects K-12 schools in California to CENIC, the state’s research and education network. He works with various stakeholders to ensure reliable network access, cybersecurity, and professional development for network administrators. He also oversees a self-provisioned fiber optic network in Imperial County that serves the community. He has a degree in Electrical Engineering, a certification in California CTO, and over 20 years of experience in IT and networking.
  • D’Andre J. Weaver, PhD., is the Chief Digital Equity Officer (CDEO) at Digital Promise, a global nonprofit that works at the intersection of research, technology, and practice. He works to advance digital equity globally and oversees the Verizon Innovative Learning Schools (VILS) program, which provides technology and support to over 600 Title I schools across the U.S. A native of Chicago’s South Side, he is a former teacher, principal, senior leader, and superintendent who cares about student success. He is a board member of several education organizations, a Pahara Fellow, a Racial Equity Leadership Network Fellow, and a member of EdLoc and MCEL.
  • Charlotte Bewersdorff is the VP for Community Engagement at Merit, a nonprofit that provides broadband and technology services to Michigan communities. She leads the Michigan Moonshot initiative, which aims to solve the state’s broadband and digital equity challenges. She also leads several state and national groups. She is a board member of two technology organizations and received the 2021 Rose-Werle Award for her community contributions.

"In addition to welcoming our fabulous new Board members, we are also grateful for the invaluable contributions of our outgoing board members – Rachelle Chong, Paula Boyd, and Debra Kriete," stated John Windhausen, SHLB's Executive Director. "Their dedication and leadership have been instrumental in advancing our objectives and advocating for equitable broadband access."

The SHLB Coalition offers two distinct pathways for individuals to join the Board. Potential Directors can either be appointed by existing board members or elected by SHLB's membership base. Board members are recruited or elected for three-year terms, renewable for a second term.